Skip to Main Content


Dec 11 2023

We The People: The Citizen and the Constitution Middle and High School State Finals Take Place Tuesday and Wednesday


More than 600 middle and high school students will compete in the 2023 Indiana Bar Foundation We the People: The Citizen and the Constitution State Finals. The two-day championship will be held at Historic Union Station and Crowne Plaza Indianapolis Downtown December 12-13.

Classes from 14 middle schools and 14 high schools from across the state qualified by finishing in the top three in one of four regionals or were granted a wild card entry based on regional points.

“The Foundation is proud to sponsor this wonderful program. Congratulations to every class that has been part of regional and state competition. We are thankful to our school communities, volunteer judges, and all those whose financial support allows the Foundation to provide We the People to more than 10,000 Indiana students annually,” said Foundation President & CEO Charles Dunlap.

The We the People competition consists of simulated congressional hearings. Students demonstrate their knowledge and understanding of constitutional principles through presenting their views on a specific topic and then defending their positions by answering questions from a panel of judges. Each class will compete in six rounds. Awards are presented to the top three classes.

In addition to the competition, middle school students will have the opportunity to witness a Naturalization Ceremony Tuesday afternoon in the Grand Hall of Union Station, organized by the United States District Court Southern District of Indiana. Approximately 70 individuals will take the oath of citizenship. The Honorable James R. Sweeney II, United States District Court, Southern District of Indiana, and member of the Foundation Board of Directors will preside.

Middle school classes competing in the state finals:

  • Carroll Middle School (Smith), Fort Wayne
  • Carroll Middle School (Culbertson), Fort Wayne
  • Castle South Middle School, Newburgh
  • Fall Creek Junior High School, Fishers
  • Fishers Junior High School, Fishers
  • Forest Ridge Academy, Schererville
  • Helfrich Park STEM Academy A, Evansville
  • Helfrich Park STEM Academy B, Evansville
  • Hobart Middle School, Hobart
  • Malachy Catholic School, Brownsburg
  • Richard’s Episcopal School, Indianapolis
  • Union Township Middle School, Valparaiso
  • Woodside Middle School, Fort Wayne

High school classes competing in the state finals:

  • Castle High School, Newburgh
  • Fishers High School, Fishers
  • Franklin Central High School, Indianapolis
  • Hamilton Southeastern High School, Fishers
  • Heritage Jr/Sr High School, Monroeville
  • Hobart High School, Hobart
  • Homestead High School, Fort Wayne
  • Mississinewa High School, Gas City
  • Morton High School, Hammond
  • New Palestine High School, New Palestine
  • North Posey High School, Poseyville
  • Plainfield High School, Plainfield
  • Shepard Academy, Evansville