Skip to Main Content


Jun 21 2024

Indiana Bar Foundation Celebrates Legal Excellence & the President’s Circle at the 2024 Annual Meeting & Awards Luncheon

AllGiving & Recognition

From left to right: Hon. Geoffrey Slaughter, Marilyn Smith, Mike Fassold

June 21, 2024 (INDIANAPOLIS) —The Indiana Bar Foundation (Foundation) is pleased to recognize three honorees and a new member to the President’s Circle at its Annual Meeting & Awards Luncheon. The Foundation hosts the Annual Meeting & Awards Luncheon to celebrate milestones and accomplishments made in the past fiscal year and the exceptional people who contribute to the Foundation’s mission of civic education and legal assistance.

Marilyn Smith is the recipient of the Indiana Bar Foundation’s Legend Award. Throughout Marilyn’s career, she has made significant strides to ensure a more accessible legal system for all Hoosiers. Her dedication to justice and mentorship has left an indelible mark, inspiring generations of legal professionals.

Justice Geoffrey Slaughter is the recipient of the Foundation’s Champion of Civil Legal Assistance award, recognizing his unwavering commitment to providing access to justice for all. Justice Slaughter took the oath of office as Indiana’s 109th Supreme Court Justice on June 13, 2016, and has served as the Chair of the Indiana Coalition for Court Access since July 1, 2018.

Mike Fassold is the recipient of the Foundation’s Champion of Civic Education award. Mike is a retired World and U.S. History teacher and a legendary We the People program teacher. His classes competed numerous times at the national level, where they excelled by bringing home the We the People National Invitational Championship trophy to Indiana five times.

With the recent launch of the President’s Circle this past January—which recognizes top supporters committed to improving civic education and legal assistance across Indiana—President and CEO Charles Dunlap announced today that Barnes & Thornburg is the newest member of the President’s Circle. They now join Timothy J. Abeska, Faegre Drinker Biddle and Reath as members.

“This year, the Foundation has honored three exceptional individuals whose dedication and service have profoundly impacted their respective fields. In addition to recognizing our award recipients, I am delighted to welcome Barnes & Thornburg as a new member of the President’s Circle. This inclusion underscores their steadfast commitment to advancing civic education and legal assistance for all Hoosiers,” said Charles Dunlap.

The Annual Meeting & Awards Luncheon celebrates outstanding individuals in the legal field and civic education. It reinforces the Foundation’s dedication to being the premier statewide charitable organization and a trusted partner in advancing civic literacy and the legal system.